Current Lab Members

Mark Heise
Principal Investigator
mark_heisem@med.unc.edu

 

 

 

Sharon Taft-Benz
Research Associate, Lab Manager
sharon_taft-benz@med.unc.edu
Production of non-characterized viral open reading frames, contribution of host genetics and viral structure to disease pathogenesis

 

 

Paul Sylvester
Post-Doc – Genetics
sylvesp@email.unc.edu

 

 

 

Marta Cruz Cisneros  
PhD Graduate student – Genetics and Molecular Biology 
mcruzcis@email.unc.edu
Host genetic regulation of antibody response to influenza vaccination

 

 

Jenny Loome   
PhD Graduate student – Microbiology and Immunology
NSF GRFP Fellow
jloome@live.unc.edu
Novel open reading frames in Chikungunya virus.

 

Jake Dillard  
MD/ PhD  student – Microbiology and Immunology
jacob_dillard@med.unc.edu
Impact of host genetics and prior antigen exposure on immune responses.

 

 

 

Lily Adams
PhD Graduate student – Microbiology and Immunology
ladams@med.unc.edu
Coronavirus genetics, antigenic diversity, and pathogenesis

 

 

 

Jack Sears
PhD Graduate student – Microbiology and Immunology
jdsears@email.unc.edu

 

 

 

 

Fulla Anfal
PhD Graduate student – Microbiology and Immunology
anfal.abdelgadir@unc.edu

 

 

 

 

Jaclyn Higgins
PhD Graduate student – Microbiology and Immunology
jaclyn32@email.unc.edu

 

 

 

 

Kalika Kamat
PhD Graduate student – Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
jkdkamat@email.unc.edu

 

 

 

Taalia Morgan
Post-Baccalaureate Research Education Program – PREP Student
taalia@email.unc.edu

 

 

 

Ian Klevans
Undergraduate Researcher
ianwk@live.unc.edu
Determining the function of regions of interest in nonstructural proteins of Chikungunya Virus

 

 

Noah Morales
Research Technician
moraldo@live.unc.edu

 

 

 

Breantié  Parotti 
Research Technician
breantieparotti@med.unc.edu

 

 

 

Liz Anderson
Research technician
lizand@email.unc.edu
Host immune response to encephalomyelitic arboviruses; animal model development

 

 

 

Marcia Sanders
Research Associate
marcia_sanders@unc.edu

 

 

 

Jane Burdick
Research Technician
burdij@email.unc.edu